Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Help me restore a salvaged 1993 Toyota 22-RE!

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2024, 11:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help me restore a salvaged 1993 Toyota 22-RE!

Title is self explanatory. I plan on uploading photos of the vehicle tomorrow morning. A little background before that. The truck is salvaged only one owner 120 thousandish miles. It needed a new battery to get it working then I sorta overheated it when the chain broke. The water pump and chain have been replaced the cylinders got resurfaced. I over heated it a second time when a belt broke to the radiator. I’m new to working on cars sorry 😅

anyhow what ended up happening is it was so dark out my godfather came out to help i was like hysterical I guess I really didn’t know what I was looking at or make heads or tails and this is a truck I’ve replaced parts on before. I filled the radiator wrong when the belt was broken so I’m going to have to get to that. I didn’t dilute the solution like I should have it’s cool that’s not the issue tho.

it was dark so instead of thinking or seeing the belt was broken my godfather poured that cylinder sealing stuff for cracks and junk so it ran fine after the belt no biggie.

it failed smog after that tho because of the EGR

my idiot ass got an engine cleaning from a lube place when I got my oil changed and ya my engine did not like that.

so anyhow that’s where I’m at for engine history.

as of late it’s parked in my driveway I replaced the EGR and modulator.
yet to torque it.
The vacuum filter had soot on the end I replaced it. Noticed the one yotashop sold me has a smaller chamber than the oem one. No biggie I think I ordered the wrong one tho that’s on me.
I replaced the rear vacuum lines
canister to rail
reed valve to rail
fuel line to rail

Then I ran out of oem hose length.