Offroad Tech Discussion pertaining to additions or questions which improve off-road ability, recovery and safety, such as suspension, body lifts, lockers etc
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hi-lift near miss today - be careful everyone!

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2005, 11:45 AM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
I've skimmed through this thread and while I would love to summarize all the great tips in here, I have NO experience with Hi lifts (don't own one either). Thus my suggestion for anyone whose had extensive experience with using Hi-lifts is:

"Can someone write a list of do's and don'ts when using a Hi-lift?"

Perhaps we can use this as a reference document for future users so no one gets hurt

Bob
Old 03-05-2005, 12:23 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Bob_98SR5
I've skimmed through this thread and while I would love to summarize all the great tips in here, I have NO experience with Hi lifts (don't own one either). Thus my suggestion for anyone whose had extensive experience with using Hi-lifts is:

"Can someone write a list of do's and don'ts when using a Hi-lift?"

Perhaps we can use this as a reference document for future users so no one gets hurt

Bob
...and "Can they be used without sliders and how if not?"
Old 03-05-2005, 12:50 PM

http://hi-lift.com/

and you can use the Hi-lift w/ Liftmate to lift by tire

click on "hi lift jacks" button, at the bottom of pager are instructions.
I think Bill Burke has a hi lift use website.. dont have the link handy tho
Old 03-05-2005, 06:17 PM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
It is confirmed, the frame is slightly dimpled above each slider bar (where they are welded to the frame).

My greatest concern is if this could have torqued suspension braces/components in any way; enough to be causing my rig to track crooked. I drove it today and all seems fine. I guess the only way to really tell would be to get it up on an alignment rack.

Darn.
Old 03-05-2005, 06:55 PM