Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

TRD Bilstein's for a non-TRD Tacoma?

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2002, 07:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
TRD Bilstein's for a non-TRD Tacoma?

My wife and I recently purchased an '02 non-TRD Tacoma PreRunner D-Cab. I'm kinda new to the Tacoma and this website. Hope you can help with a question or two.
The Tacoma is mostly her's to drive, and she gives me a bad time about the mods and upgrades that I do to my Mustang Cobra. So I figured that the TRD Bilsteins would be a nice upgrade for her Tacoma. The rears look like a straight swap, or are there differences that would prevent their use?
The stock front's are a shock/spring combo, almost like a McPherson strut. Is the TRD the same basic setup? Can the TRD Bilsteins be used on this non-TRD truck, or are other mods needed? If it can, how do you deal with the spring when doing the replacement?

Thanks for your help!

Last edited by Vinnie T; 11-11-2002 at 05:28 AM.
Old 11-10-2002, 07:48 PM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Vinnie:

The TRD-equipped Tacoma Bilsteins are different from the Bilsteins you would buy from, say, shox.com or Performance Products. I've ridden in a TRD Tacoma and its a jarring ride, to say the least.

I put in Bilsteins in my 4runner and the difference compared to the TRD Tacoma is night and day. Granted, they are two different vehicles, but I can assure you that the ride is much better w/ the aftermarket Bils.

I read on TTORA that alot of the guys there swap out their TRD Bils for the aftermarket Bils.

Bob
Old 11-10-2002, 07:48 PM
Contributing Member

First, welcome.

Next, yes, the rears are a direct swap as long as the length is the same.