Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Transmission junk?????

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2016, 05:24 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Transmission junk?????

Ok so first off, I am a complete noob when it comes to automatic trannys. Having said that this is what I've been going thru the past couple weeks. I have a 99 4Runner 3.4 240k miles, only had it for a few months. The problem first occurred driving around 40 mph when I realized the rig wasn't shifting it just reved up, so I pull over shut it off check the fluid in the trans and it's right where it should be but more black then red....I waited about 10 min fired it up and drove it 20 min back home no issues. Drove to work all that week no issues at all until one day it happened again but this time I leave the rig running going into a store come back out put it in reverse and it just rolls, it would not engage in any gear, shut it off wait a min and now it will engage. I had to do this 4-5 times on my 7 mile ride to work. So I leave it at work for a couple days and decide to drop the pan and replace the filter. The fluid was dark dark brown and smelt like complete $@&!, the filter was junk as well, and also the factory paint on the inside of the pan was flaking and looked like it got super hot at one point in its life. (Wish I took a pic) the magnets didn't really have much material on them and the valve body looked good besides the fluid color. Anyway, after it was all put back together the rig drove like a dream for a week or about 200 miles and then next thing I know it's worse then ever....won't engage in any gear and when it does it would drive 1-2 miles before having to pull over and shut it off because it would not shift. So after letting it sit at work a couple days I decide to try to flush the tranny. It drains 3 quarts and then nothing would come out after firing it up multiple times. I reconnected the line to the radiator and try shifting thru gears and it