Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Studless winter tire questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2005, 03:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Studless winter tire questions

Hello All,

Winter is fast approaching up here and I'm looking for tires to keep me out of the ditches this winter. I’m new to Juneau, but I have experience driving in snow and packed ice without studs, or snow tires for that matter. I've been told numerous times that Juneau is known for its black ice.

The typical situation is that it will snow, then it warms up and most of it will melt leaving mostly black ice. I’ve been told that studded tires don’t offer the same traction on black ice as they do packed snow because of the fact that black ice is typically too thin to allow the studs to stab in for traction.

I’m looking at two snow and ice tires. What are your preferences?

Pirelli Scorpion Ice & Snow tires

-or-

Bridgestone Blizzak tires

My stock tire size is 265/70 R 16 so I’m also wondering if I need to go narrower, say 245/75 R 16’s for better grip (this size was suggested by tirerack.com)

Thanks,

Erich
Old 10-21-2005, 06:48 PM

I would run bridgestone winter duellers they're designed for truck/suv unlike the blizzaks are.....excellent snow tires, its a multi-compound cell studless tires. I run them and some of my friends run them on their own vehicles....haven't had a problem! lets us know what you go with
Old 10-21-2005, 06:54 PM

i second the vote for winter duelers. i saw a test once where they compared them to studded tires on a frozen lake and they did better than the studs! i've used them for two colorado winters so far and driving in the winter has never been more pleasurable and less stressful.
Old 10-22-2005, 04:48 AM
Contributing Member

Received 477 Likes on 321 Posts
What are the locals running?
Old 10-22-2005, 09:36 AM
Contributing Member

+1 for the Bridgestones.

Pirelli is Italian for "not round".
Old 10-22-2005, 07:49 PM