Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Put my DP on my Kennesaw Mountain Accessories rear bumper last night!

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2009, 01:13 PM
Contributing Member

Received 188 Likes on 131 Posts
I don't mean to keep prying on this, 'cause it sounds like you have a plan and all. Can you get to the bolts easy? I mean like to get a drill in there?
Old 03-24-2009, 02:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
the reason to have the bolt-on bumpers(front or back) is to allow the frame to flex under force, it's a good thing, that's why on any passenger car or SUV you see the crossmembers are in the middle of the frame like an H not at the ends of the frame like a closed box. nut/bolt connection is rigid but not a solid structure. buy weld rear bumper and frame into one solid piece, the rear won't be able to flex out when needed, causing premature metal fatigue, next thing you know, there's crack.

i'm not an expert on this thing, all i know was from what i heard here and there during the process of getting my bumper. from the info i gathered, it's a big deal, but others please chime in if anything i said is not accurate.
Old 03-24-2009, 03:26 PM

Well I don't plan to wheel it that hard at all, it's my DD so it will see some trail usage but nothing hardcore for a long time.

Yes, I can get to the bolts easily from underneath but I don't have the tools to drill them out. Well, not yet so we'll see.
Old 03-24-2009, 03:40 PM