Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

My shock replacementl experience: Questions and Tips

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2002, 07:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My shock replacement experience: Questions and Tips

Hello All,

Great board! I just finished putting Bilsteins all the way around my 95 4runner. Thanks to a few threads here it was a no-brainer on the purchase and almost a no-brainer on the install. I do have a couple of questions. What are the torque specs for the upper and lower (front and back) nuts? I've read that the torque on these nuts is really important. The directions that came with the shocks are seriously confusing. I believe the uppers get 20Nm and I have no idea what the lowers get.

If anyone else is thinking about changing shocks the install was really easy on my 2nd gen. 2-3hrs for this complete beginner. Here's a few things I learned. Some things maybe obvious.
1. No need to remove the tires! Just turn the wheels right or left for the fronts. Rears don't really get in the way.
2. Only need to jack up the front end until the tires are just off the ground for front install. No need to jack up the rear at all. Just compress the shock once you bolt them to the top mount.
3. The bottom of the front shocks needed to be convinced by a hammer to fit. Mounting bracket was about 1/8"-1/16" to narrow. No big deal.
4.Use a vice grip on the "piston rod" part of the shock to keep it from turning while you tighten the top nuts.
5. I bounced the rear of the truck before I tightened the rear lower bolts to "seat" the bushings.
6.Oil the bolts the night before!

Please let me know if any of this wrong! I'm a novice.

I'm thinking about Addco sway bars now. I'm never satisfied. I do mostly city driving. Is it worth it to replace the OEM bars? What do sway bars actually do?

It feels good to do this kind of thing yourself. I might just try a timing belt change next. Watch for that thread. I'll need your help!