Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Do they make shift kits for Toyota trannys?

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2006, 05:35 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by MTL_4runner
...As a Toyota Tech I'd be interested to hear your thoughts on this because they are clearly not doing any ECU programming. They have a few fancy names for the service like "hydrobalancing" or whatnot, but they are obviously mechanically changing fluid passages (along with a new set of springs......may add/remove checkballs too, not sure) since all you need to do is send them your valve body. Hard to get any info on what exactly is being done technically because they are trying to protect their business interests (no surprise there). Too bad no one ever took a highres photo of the valvebody (fluid passage side) before/after so you could see what was changed. It seems this service works similarly on many of the import vehicles, all of which are computer controlled now.