Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Chinese 3RZ heads - Are they worth considering?

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2022, 11:31 AM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Chinese 3RZ heads - Are they worth considering?

I have a cracked head on a 3RZ that will need to be replaced. And I have been looking at new replacement heads. They are quite reasonably priced compared a refurbished OEM head. But naturally, you have to wonder about their quality. Also, LC Engineering says that no aftermarket head is of the quality of OEM Toyota, so they only sell OEM heads. BUT, with everyone and their dog getting cracked heads, it is pretty clear that, quality-wise, the OEM head leaves something to be desired. Could an aftermarket head REALLY be THAT much worse than the already flawed OEM head?

Last edited by StorminMatt; 11-25-2022 at 12:17 PM.
Old 11-27-2022, 08:21 AM

Received 125 Likes on 101 Posts
I'm no engineer or market expert, so take this for what it's worth.

Yes.

I don't have experience with the 3RZ so I can't know whether cracked heads are really that common, or it just seems like it to you. I know that over the years, Toyota engines have had "problems". The head gaskets and timing chains on the "R" series engines, and especially the 3.0 when they first introduced the V6 in pickups. But even those problems were only problems by Toyota standards. Compared to most manufacturers, those engines with problems were still far better than average. Most of these problems happened at well over 100,000 miles, when a lot of other trucks had been retired to the junkyard. It's only that Toyotas are on the road so long that you see some of these problems.