Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Body lift vs. Suspension lift?

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2006, 08:16 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Body lift vs. Suspension lift?

I am fairly new to offroading and also fairly new to Yotatech. Most of the car's I had I dropped instead of raising them, but my interest of exploring Baja, MX and being an outdoors kind a guy, shifted my interest and bought me a 99 4runner. The current problem with my vehicle is that it sags in the rear once it's loaded with gear, and I definitely need to do something with it, and increase off-road capabilities.

I have since researched for a good 80% street (work)/20% off-road (weekend) setup, and so far decided that I would like to ride on 265/75/16's, based on readings on this board. I have also looked closely at the Tundra suspension setup with rear OME's, and/or a 1" body lift (to clear the 265/75's without Tundra setup).

What I am looking for is a good compromise in street/off-road performance, something that will fix my rear sag, and will improve my ground clearance. From what I understand, only tires will raise my axels, which are the lowest point in the vehicle (rear pumpkin), and Tundra setup will not improve that, but will only provide me with better articulation, and possibly decrease reliability (increased wear on CV's/axels), and vehicle stability with a higher C.G.. So, going with 265/75's with a 1" body lift (to clear the tires), some new rear shocks (for my sag) should be sufficient? I guess what I am asking is, how much of an improvement is a Tundra lift vs. a body lift, on 265/75's?

Any input would be appreciated. By the way, I am very close to getting the Tundra setup, but need to resolve this last issue.
Old 01-27-2006, 08:25 AM
Contributing Member