Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:
Browse all: Toyota 4Runner 4WD - Four Wheel Drive Guides

Print Wikipost

4WD won't disengage on 99 4Runner LTD

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2010, 03:13 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
hi guys, i have been reading this thread and it has alot of good information in it, but it is quite complicated as i am fairly new to my truck and the whole 4wd lark.
i have a 1993 hilux sr5 2.8D manual and it is stuck in 4wd, the light is solid and will not go out.
when i click the 4wd button on the low range gear stick i hear a motor go, i also get vacuum in the pipes, but it still will not get out of 4wd.
this is very bad as i drive the car mainly on road, and parking it in my drive involves hard turning and this causes the wheels to screach and hop aswell as making an alraming knocking noise from the diff's.
i am afraid i am going to break something if i keep driving it this way but i dont know what is broken or how to go about testing things.
please help
thanks.
Old 04-15-2010, 09:00 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hi 1993hiluxsr5,

Sorry just starting out as well not as knowledgeable as the rest of the guys here.

***GOT MORE PICS of rear actuator*** 99 4RUNNER LIMITED STUCK ON 4WD**

Ok so I got the 27mm socket so I can remove the front diff switch and test it but after reading the forum again I thought I would first try to give 12v/ ground to pins 2 and 3 of the Rear Actuator to shift the Runner into 2wd. Well, I hear the motor of the actuator moving and then it stops. So I get in the truck so excited and then, lights still blinking and still in 4wd. so I decided to press the button on the shifter and the blinking stops only for a moment and then starts up again. FAILED!! Well I tried it again and reversed the wires polarity and again I hear the motor of the actuator move and I test drive again and its still in 4wd. I don't get it.