86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

22re turbo build

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2019, 09:49 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
22re turbo build

I just joined this forum, and I've read a couple of (what appear to be) the more successful 22re turbo builds. They've been extremely helpful. I have a 92 toyota pickup, 2wd, 5spd, 22re. 200k miles, bone stock. Got the truck for 1000$, had a couple minor issues that were easily corrected. I've been working for toyota for 3 years as a technician. The motor is strong, and reliable as hell (no surprises there). I bought it to move a bunch of stuff out of my dads house after he passed away, make some dump runs, and for picking up parts for side jobs. The entire time I've owned the truck I have been fantasizing about doing a motor swap like the ones I've seen on 1320 video. One truck similar to mine had a 2jz with big turbo running 10's at the drag strip, another with a turbo'd honda k24. In every case, the truck is a total sleeper, which is what i love about it. Both are obviously appealing swaps, but the more I thought about it, the more I started leaning towards just re-building the motor i got, and adding a turbo. It seems as though that would simplify the project, and save a lot of weight on a truck that's already front heavy. I've budgeted 3,500$ for the build, but I understand the cost could exceed that, and I'm prepared to spend a little more if need be. Here's how I've expected to spend that money:

Block and head to the machine shop, balanced rotating assembly, maybe a little mill on the block and deck the head/front cover a bit (if need be).
Not sure if i wanna bore over the cylinders, but definitely get them matched up to some weisco pistons. i was thinking 9.0:1 compression (I know that sounds high, i will explain)
Stronger rods
New bearings, and bushings
ARP head bolts
head gasket recommendations?