86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

1987 4Runner Cyber Dude

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2013, 09:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I had to replace my down pipe. i paid 90 bucks for it, i have no welding experience nor do i have a welder or else i would have attempted to fab one up on my own, Dorman makes the replacement i think. on inspection of it when i bought it, I was very happy with it. Welds were clean and the pipe was solid, probably could have smacked it on the ground without bending it.
Old 07-24-2013, 06:33 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Terrys87 - These manifolds can be a pain. If I have a good connection from the "Y" pipe to the manifold, I will cut the pipe further on down just to avoid breaking the seal on that area that you showed.

I know what you mean that they can be a pain, that manifold on there isn’t that good as it is any way. The bolts were so tight, one of them snapped when I removed the original motor. I had to drill the center of the bolt out then keep drilling as much as possible then tap the threads. I was lucky to tap along the original threads. Eventually I’d like to replace the exhaust manifold with the same, but make all 3 studs.

I went thru your thread again and didnt see any pictures of your 86. Got any or I miss it somewhere? I try on my threads to show there is so much to do that doesnt cost anything or very little that does need done. I try to stay at $25 a week on my projects and when I do spend some, you will see alot of busywork or using supplies that I have on hand. Sometimes $25 can be a fortune. It is this week as I had a few things to come up but I got plenty to keep me busy for awhile.