Pre 84 Trucks (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

The '82 Shortbox: 22re swapped with a custom camper

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2021, 06:31 PM

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
The '82 Shortbox: 22re swapped with a custom camper

Hello all,

Never been much of a build thread guy but I can tell I'm gonna need some advice on this one. I am new to Toyotas; this is my current rig:

I have always wanted a solid axle, fuel injected toyota but have never wanted a lifted one (aka no SAS), which is why I was on the lookout for a EFI '85. No surprise, they are impossible to find.

When this one came up for sale, I decided I should pull the trigger, even though the price was a bit steep ($7k).

It has a 22re that looks to be from a 93-95 with a W56 A/B and R140F from an '88. The guy who did the swap passed away and I bought it from his buddy who's had it on project status in his shed for a few years.

It currently has a 3" lift, 4.88s, 32s, and an arb in the rear (but missing a compressor). Chassis has 170k and motor/ tranny are unknown mileage. It shifts great but the motor is in need of a tune up, and there are quite a few little things that need to be done.

After dealing with fuel issues I was able to drive it 100miles home.

Here is the engine bay:

Here is my immediate to-do list:

Chase wiring issues(tach, oil pressure, blower motor, charging, ignition)/ fix grounds
Big 3 wire upgrade
Air filter/ battery swap
tune up
put in seat belts
delete or replace emissions stuff
lower to stock height and put on new steering components
pretty up interior
round headlight swap

My long term goal is to get the locker working and build a camping setup like this:

https://assets.newatlas.com/dims4/de...-campers-8.jpg

The truck will be a DD and for adventures, wheeling trips, firewood, and hunting.