Maintenance & Repair Archives Note: This section will be merged in with the other tech areas soon, and is now closed

Brakes again....

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2004, 06:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brakes again....

Well tomorrow I'm doing my front pads and I was thinking I could do the rear drums as well. Are the drums difficult to do? I've never done drums before. Is there a way to proportion front and rear braking? It seems like my front is getting most of the work.

Thanks
Old 01-31-2004, 08:07 PM

well ive never done rear brakes but i hear they can be a PITA......especially getting the drum off. you might wanna do that first and check the thickness to see if you should even bother replacing them if you are that worried that theyre worn.

your front brakes are designed to do most of the stopping (because your weight is thrown forward when you slow down).

if you were able to make more braking power go to the rear theyd most likely just be locking up all the time and cause instablilty.
Old 01-31-2004, 08:40 PM

I've never replaced the drums since I've had it. It currently has 90k miles on it I was just curious because a bit of noise is coming from one of the drums when I apply the brake. I guess I'll find out tomorrow when I brake them down...
Old 01-31-2004, 08:51 PM

Drums are really easy. They are self adjusting. Just replace the shoes. If the shoes don't want to come out easily I suggest a little love tap from a rubber mallet.

The front brakes wear much faster than the rear drums.

Good luck and remember to wipe the dust in the drums.
Old 02-01-2004, 12:41 PM

Getting all the springs and clips on drums installed without a handy-dandy "brake tool" is rather difficult. While it can be done with screw drivers and pliers, it's not easy that way.

Getting things adjusted take a little work, and also is not at all easy without a "brake adjusting tool" Again, it can be done with a screwdriver, but isn't fun. Especially when it comes to relaxing them.