General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years

Battery Drain Overnight

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2013, 09:35 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Battery Drain Overnight

I just purchased a 88 Pickup, and the day after I brought it home it wouldn't crank. None of the lights will come on, battery is totally dead. I jump start it and it runs fine all day long. Day 2, same thing. So, now I'm trying to find out what's causing the battery drain. I'm new to this so wasn't sure what to do. Went to Advance Auto and had them check the battery, alternator, and starter and according to them, everything was good. Found a threadhere that suggested disconnecting the positive terminal and measuring current draw between the terminal and battery post. I did this with my cheap little multi-meter and it maxed it out. One by one I pulled the fuses in the box under the hood, no change. I then disconnected the wire going from the + post on the battery to the under hood fuse box, and the reading dropped to the minimum. So it seems something in the fuse box is causing the drain, but I have no idea what. I was able to pull everything except one in the far right of the pic, which I believe is a fusible link. Not sure how this one comes out, it was stuck in there and I couldn't pull it by hand. Does anyone have any idea what the problem may be or suggestions on how to further diagnose? Really hoping to get this fixed soon, not really how I hoped to spend my first few days with the new ride. Thanks.

Name:  IMG_20130516_121909_605_zps2a3d4db4.jpg
Views: 1541
Size:  55.0 KB
Old 05-16-2013, 10:16 AM

Received 670 Likes on 459 Posts
Originally Posted by ARK_SWAMP_RIDER
... it maxed it out....
...I then disconnected the wire going from the + post on the battery to the under hood fuse box, and the reading dropped to the minimum.
Maxed out is ho many amps?
Minimum is how many amps?