Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Overdrive Light

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2013, 07:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Overdrive Light

I just bought my first yota, a 87 runner 22re with automatic.

Overdrive works, but seems like it doesn't turn off. The overdrive word lights up when lights are on, the other bulb never lights up regardless of button position. I swapped bulbs, they are both good. Cant find that bulb size, but obviously I don't need it anyway.

I am still learning... even though I have been rebuilding 22re motors for over 5 years.. with great success $$

I checked tranny fluid, it is normal hot when running, and smells fine, looks fine etc.

Truck drives decent, but sometimes stays in 3rd at the light? Doesn't like to stay in 2nd very long, I find my self using the power button for the ECT on even the smallest inclines.

To read codes, don't I need the overdrive light to work properly??

Thanks in advance.
Old 09-15-2013, 09:23 PM

K well I guess ill drain the fluid, replace filter for tranny, see if that helps.

I found a rebuilt auto with transfer case for $150 locally.
Old 09-25-2013, 07:44 AM

Bought a rebuilt tranny for $150 with torque conv and flexplate. Thanks for all the help guys, much appreciated!.... ill seek a different forum for now on.
Old 09-25-2013, 12:29 PM

Have you checked the cable that connects the transmission with the throttle valve? This controls kick-down and also can affect shift points. If yours is too loose, the transmission thinks you're driving like a little old lady, barely depressing the accelerator. Otherwise, I don't have any brilliant suggestions. I hope this helps.
Old 10-19-2013, 06:31 PM

@murcielago yea that helped, at least helped me understand how the system works. However my cable is tight, not to tight but enough that slack is not a problem.