Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

noob ? 96-2002

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2016, 10:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
noob ? 96-2002

Hi everybody. I am new to Toyotas and have been a jeep guy most of my life so I would like some direction on where to start my search for the perfect 4runner and then I will take it from there for awhile. I am looking for a 96-2002 4runner. I am looking for something I can do a mild build on just to get me and my buddies up into the mountains whenever we want to get away from the wife and kids. Lift, tires, bumpers, winch, all that kind of stuff I will research once I figure out what would be the best year to look at and the best combination of options. That is where I need a little help and then I will start my search. Thanks for any help you can give me.
Old 07-24-2016, 11:32 PM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Well just what are you going to base your decision on ??

Just what options can you not live without ??

Auto or manual person ??

The real question what kind of budget are you working with??

Looking for a project or something you can just get in and go??

Best thing is get busy looking at the ones you might like remembering decent 4 Runners at a reasonable price go very fast.

Then if your in the liquid brine belt it adds a whole other area to look at while shopping.

Doing all this work yourself quite easy to spend $1000.00 or more just in parts catching up neglected maintenance paying labor it gets real expensive.

Happy Hunting
Old 07-27-2016, 07:14 AM