Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Gearing swap

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2010, 07:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gearing swap

I'm no newbie to working on my Yota, but I've never had to do any differential work before, so I've got a couple questions. I'm planning on swapping out gears from the stock 3.58, to 4.56. Eventually putting 33" tires on the truck after a lift. I'm finding that most shops locally want up to $400 per axle to swap them out. It seems like there's something in there I could do myself.

I'm capable of handling most work, but even my Chilton says to stay away from ring and pinion gear adjustment. Could I just rip the third members out of each axle and take them to a shop to get the ring and pinion swapped out?
Old 11-15-2010, 07:40 AM

Received 27 Likes on 23 Posts
ive been doing research on the same thing and if your going to get gears and run 33" tires wait and get 4.88's. might aswell get the best bang for your buck and do it right the first time!
Old 11-15-2010, 07:40 AM
Banned

Received 20 Likes on 9 Posts
Bench install as it's called.

More work for you but cheaper.

:wabbit2:
Old 11-15-2010, 08:08 AM

Originally Posted by bobby_duce
ive been doing research on the same thing and if your going to get gears and run 33" tires wait and get 4.88's. might aswell get the best bang for your buck and do it right the first time!
Interesting you say that, because I've been doing a lot of research on this.