Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Widening the Track Width on a 95 pickup

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2019, 12:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Widening the Track Width on a 95 pickup

Hi Yall,
This is my first time posting so sorry in advance for whatever stupid things i say. I own a 95 2wd 4 cyl pickup and I just got into an accident. I slide out in the rain and hit a curb sliding almost completely sideways at probably 10 miles an hours. I have a bent rear axle and two mangled rims, so I'm going to have to get new wheels/tires and swap a new axle. It doesn't look like anything is bent in the front (I had a mechanic look at it), but there might be. I always thought it would be cool (this is where the stupid part starts) to widebody my truck, but I don't wanna screw anything up with wheel spacers or spend a ˟˟˟˟ton on wide ass tires. Would it be possible to just swap a wider rear axle in there and call it a day? Of course, I would still have to change the front, but that would solve 50% of the issue right? And are there any tips on getting the front wider "the right way", since I hear a lot of bad things about wheel spacers and wheels that are too offset. I wanted to go about 2in wider, so lmk if you think thats dumb as well.
Thanks!
Old 11-18-2019, 07:27 AM

Received 118 Likes on 89 Posts
IF you want to have a look like that (not my thing), do a SAS with landcruiser axls or tons.
Should be wide enough!
(Just putting different axles in is one thing. You need to align the properly to the tcase, you need drivelines that you could actually bold on to the third member / diff - hole pattern) Then, does the "new" rear axle have the right diff? If not, then NEVER put it into 4WD on the street unless you REALLY want a completely new drivetrain...)

BUT since you are screwing with the dynamics of the truck that way anyhow, I don't see a problem.