Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Truck wont even push-start

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2009, 08:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by vital22re
this does not make sence... unless the timing chain skipped a few teeth and bent some valves. did you verify that the starter was spinning the crank? did you verify the basics spark, fuel, compression? i guess im just missing some peices to your puzzle.
well honestly I am new to engine work but it is at my friends shop and he is teaching me. We know the starter works, we hooked it back up to spin the flywheel to test compression, there was no compression. The timing chain looks good. All the belts were spinning when we were testing compression so the cranks should be good. My friend moved the piston side to side while in the cylinder making oil squeeze up above the piston, he said that is the problem, and thats why there is no compression
Old 05-04-2009, 02:51 PM

Okay so good news I found the problem.

I ran a vacuum test on the head and it turns out that 2 of my exhaust valves were not seating properly and all of my intake valves were also not seated properly. This would explain why there was so compression in the engine and why I could not get it to push start.

I took the head to a shop and the guy told me it's prob because the timing chain may have gotten thrown off and the single gear at the top of the timing chain is a bad design. He suggested the dual row timing chain.

Well at least I now know what is wrong, such a relief. Oh he also said on the 22RE you have some play back and fourth in the piston, but I am thinking maybe I should change those out while im in there.
Old 05-05-2009, 09:27 PM

So like I mentioned before this is my 1st engine tear down and I have learned a lot. I now know that valves were not seating properly and I took a second look at the tops of the pistons and NOW i can see the very noticeable damage to the pistons.