Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Torsion Bar Lift

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2022 | 06:35 PM

Torsion Bar Lift

Recently acquired a '94 fixer-upper. Thankfully mostly mechanical with virtually no rust. A lot of sap and pine needles from sitting under a pine tree for two years!
I have extensive off-road experience, but all solid axle stuff. First time IFS with torsion bars. Looks to have a 6in lift (unknown manufacturer). My question is this... the front cross bar (shown in the second pic (not my truck)) gives me about 9.5 in. of ground clearance . A arms sit flat. I have seen a couple videos of people tightening their torsion bars for additional lift. Just curious why someone would not do this over a "regular" lift to get more front end clearance? Or simply to add to a modest lift? I'm assuming aftermarket torsion bars would be a must, but what are the pro's and con's of torsion bar lifts?
Thanks! - GW

Old 08-02-2022 | 07:32 PM
Contributing Member

Wow....so there's a lot of lift info within this site. Wouldn't recommend cranking the bars for more lift. That's just going to kill your ride. Even with a bracket style lift you're not going to gain any extra articulation.
Old 08-03-2022 | 07:19 AM
YT Community Team

When I got mine(used) the prior owner had cranked the torsion bars, adding 1.5-2" of lift. The ride was horrible. It's also very hard on the upper ball joints.

Btw, looks like there's an oil leak/seep at the front, flinging oil. It's getting on you radiator hoses. I'd clean that and track it down.
Old 08-03-2022 | 01:45 PM