Squealing Belt 1987 Toyota P/U 22R

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2020, 05:16 PM
jb9

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Squealing Belt 1987 Toyota P/U 22R

Hello,

Dumb question. In a bit of a panic....

I just drove home from the grocery store and heard a belt squeal and my charge light came on and I noticed that my temperature gauge was running very high. When I got home I popped the hood in the dark and I checked the oil. Oil seems ok but I don't know how many belts the 4 cylinder 22R is supposed to have. Does it have 2 belts? Does it have one belt. I only saw one belt and I think I can see the alternator pulley wheel without a belt on it. I presume that I may have broken a belt. Does this seem like a reasonable scenario? I'm no stranger to my rig but I've never done the belts before so I don't know what to look for?

Does this 2nd belt also drive the coolant pump?

I'm in a bit of a panic as I am unemployed and I need my truck as I try to find some work...

Thanks in advance. There are so many kind knowledgeable folks here.

Old 12-10-2020, 01:12 AM

Received 33 Likes on 24 Posts
If your engine is like my 22re, then yes, you broke the alternator and water pump belt. They are super cheap to replace. The only hard part is getting the alternator loose and hinging it so that there is room to install a new belt. At least on the 22re you can wiggle a new belt through the fan without taking the fan off the radiator. If you don't have AC, then you have two belts. If you have AC then you have 3 belts.

You might have damaged the engine by driving it without the water pump belt. There was no coolant going through the engine. Bad news. Should have stopped right away. Hope for the best there. Always carry extra belts with these engines, as they seem to prefer the cheaper belts, but they don't last as long as expensive ones.