Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Some may say its overkill...thoughts?

Search this Thread

Old 02-29-2020, 09:24 AM

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
Some may say its overkill...thoughts?

Some might say its overkill but I am getting extremely close to having all parts on hand to start the build up of my chassis.

Because I may be a little insane and because I can't even stand the thought of new parts rusting within weeks I will be degreasing and painting all new chassis parts with the same paint I will be painting my frame with (looking like I will be using Imron at this point....brushed on)

I am a big believer in the science behind not mixing different paints with different properties due to adhesion issues/ compromising paints that don't "match up"

That being said I have very little experience/knowledge when it comes to paints.

Curious what ya'll have to say about what paint parts companies use on their parts (I have a lot of Moog parts) some other brands as well.

I just want to be sure that If I prep the parts properly by cleaning/scuffing/sanding(was hoping to not have to bead blast all existing paint off to be sure it doesn't flake off with whatever paint I end up using but my gut tells me I really should to insure not having to kick my own arse down the road) for adhesion of the Imron that It will in fact not have a problem adhering to the paint that is on most chassis parts. AND if anyone believes that I will have issues....what I can do differently (different paint choice, different prep) to avoid any issues.

Im edumacating myself

Last edited by dh12791; 02-29-2020 at 09:43 AM.
Old 03-01-2020, 01:24 AM

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
I can't really help. I hand sanded off ever last bit of OEM paint and rattle canned primer/paint on 10yrs ago and its only now starting to wear off. Keep a good write up with pics on how it ends up going....
The following users liked this post:
SomedayJ (03-01-2020)