Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Need advice on '94 pickup front brake job

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2020, 07:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need advice on '94 pickup front brake job

Greetings all,

I need to replace a stuck brake caliper (passenger side) and it's time for new pads/rotors. I'm new to this kind of work, thinking it looks doable for a starter project. My question for all of you: I'm having a really hard time detetmining where to buy parts (especially a reman caliper) that are not junk, and worth the money. Any suggestions? It's '94 Toyota pickup, as base as it gets (my Dad bought a fleet truck through a friend at a dealer). Just doing front brakes for now.

We're saving a bunch over going to a mechanic, so I don't mind spending more on good parts that will last. It's a daily driver, don't need anything exotic, just don't want to waste money or risk my life on cheap brakes.

Specs: 1994 pickup, 2wd, 22RE, 5spd manual. Disc up front and drums in the rear, no ABS. Apologies if I missed any info you need, just ask.

Thanks!
Old 08-20-2020, 07:45 AM

Received 841 Likes on 661 Posts
Your stock calipers lasted 26 years, you can't go wrong getting the OEM part. 47730-35050 It will set you back north of $300. https://parts.lakelandtoyota.com/p/T...773035050.html (likely much more at a brick-and-mortar dealer).

Me, I'm not so worried about getting the most expensive parts for my truck. I may just be lucky, but I've never installed a replacement part that I thought failed prematurely. RockAuto carries name-brand remanufactured Calipers in the $30-$50 range, and new Calipers in the $70-$90 range. I'd be happy with just about any of those.