Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

mufflers. (ya, i searched)

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2006, 07:28 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by ovrrdrive
Do you really feel that a couple of horsepower (assuming you're right about the difference) is really worth a couple of hundred more dollars?

What difference would you expect to feel with a few more ponies?

You could always go with the next larger size pipe in the bends to offset the size loss if you think its important.

In my opinion, the only reason to go with mandrel bent pipes is for looks if you plan on showing off the exhaust system a lot. The extra power would show on a dyno I'm sure, but that's the only place.

You're not going to notice the horsepower gains on this engine until they get to around the 10% mark.
I'm not an exhaust pro but I have done some reading on the subject and the just of what I get it is while flow is important i.e. not any restrictions to the pulses of exhaust from the engine which is what a mandrel bent system allows, I also think the overal volume of your exhaust is important. Too big of a pipe gives the exhaust time to cool down which then causes too much backpressure at low RPM's because the cool air slows down the flow of pulses. The only way to then get any power is to speed up the pulses i.e. rev the crap outta the engine which explains why larger pipes aren't always the best. And consider this - you got a pipe that provides minimal restriction to the pulses that is mandrel bent, with less volume so the pulses are free to flow at a wider band of rpm's, or you just picked a larger pipe with more volume and more restriction at the bends. Overall I think I'll take the mandrel bent smaller pipe myself. It'll keep your torque and offer less restriction than the pressure bent stock system if you decide to rev it a little bit assuming you pick the right exhaust size.