Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

More power from the 3.slow

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2008, 06:11 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I plan to run my 3.0 on the dyno this month along with a 97 3.4 taco and a 97 SC'd 3.4 taco. I will make a pass "with" and one "without" the Jacobs ignition just to clear the air on the Ign debate.

yes, please post it on my performance stat. thread. thats the kind of stuff im looking for.
Old 03-09-2008, 06:56 AM

Originally Posted by X-AWDriver
I think MonsterMaxx really said it all and he appears to have some bucks in his motor and is seeing maybe what? 25whp? And he did alot more than intake,headers and exhaust. Even that setup will run you over $1000 and you mights see 15whp at the most and I'm being generous.

I've been racing and around dynos for the last 15 years and I see what mods rsspond on the dyno and getting a bit morer airflow really doesn't show much when you are dealing with an underpowered small motor to begin with.

This goes for the 3.4 too and anything short of FI is really throwing alot of money away. I would just stick with an intake and exhaust and put your hard earned money elsewhere into the truck.

The only time ignition systems make a diff is when the stock system can't handle the power that the motor is making and that's usually a poor design of the OEM system and Toyota has fine ignition systems for almost all their vehicles.

Being around modded engines for over 20 years I saw alot of older cars benefit a little from replacing their outdated systems but with newer cars those aftermarket systems have gone to the wayside since OEM setups usually do the job fine with a lot of leeway.

Even a modded 600hp Supra doesn't need to worry about the OEM ignition system so a 150hp 3.0 won't be needing one either. Even on my Eclipse I was nearly doubling it's WHP and I never did anything concerning the ignition except colder plugs and better wires.