Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Laundry List of 22re issues

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2018, 05:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Latest update:
Had some time to fit in a front end alignment yesterday afternoon. The steering wheel was not centered and with the new tires, I didn't want to ruin with them as I have no knowledge of what the previous owner might have had done.
So I stop by the tire place in the next town and they pull it into the bay.
Not long until they pull it back out.
Seems the right upper ball joint is too worn for them to align the truck.
They quoted me $425 to do the work.
They said it takes 3.1 hours.
That seems crazy. Were they trying to go through the muffler to get to it?

I ordered a new ball joint from Amazon for $41 delivered.

Just how long will this take?
I'm pretty mechanically inclined.

What says the group here?
3 hours for a single upper ball joint?

I also got the spare tire hoist swapped out last night and the tire is safely under the bed.

Thanks
jw
Old 03-27-2018, 06:43 AM

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
I agree the shop quote sounds high and I'd expect nothing less. Many of us are here because we ran out of money at one point or another, myself included.

When I do my own work, I spend extra time cleaning things up so often it takes more time than it would for a shop to throw a part at it, but I always end up glad I fixed it myself. That said, you could probably change it in an hour, assuming you had the right tools and knew the steps ahead of time.
Old 03-27-2018, 06:57 AM

Received 289 Likes on 216 Posts