Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Just bought new 93 pickup. What should I do first? AC Issue too.

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2024, 03:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Just bought new 93 pickup. What should I do first? AC Issue too.

I just bought a 1993 Pickup. RWD, 5spd, standard cab short box. 103k original miles, one owner, has the 22re. It has zero rust and is very clean. I am new to these but know that they are VERY reliable. I was hoping a couple of my questions could be answered and a list of maintenance could be made for use down the road.

The idle seemed kind of high, has no tach so I was going off sound. Drives nice. When it's idling and you turn the AC on, it starts a pulsating action where the engine drops in RPMS drastically, then revs back up, then down, then up (until turned off)... vacuum leak? When I turn the AC on while driving it seems to not do it at all. AC does work and blows cold air! There is a very small oil leak from the half-moons from what I can tell.

Apart from the AC issue, I don't have any concerns over the mechanical aspects of this truck. I would love to do a full tune-up on her ASAP! I would love it if someone could make a list of everything I should replace (even if not necessary, but optional) so I can get a blank slate on the vehicle!

Thanks so much!
Old 06-21-2024, 05:24 PM
osv

Received 40 Likes on 35 Posts
sounds like sweet truck... you probably got maintenance records with it?

what was the mileage on the last valve adjustment, and the timing chain replacement?
Old 07-05-2024, 06:46 PM

OSV: is there a service interval to replace the timing chain? Asking because I just bought a '94 myself and wondering if it needs to be done (195K)
Old 07-06-2024, 12:06 AM

Received 51 Likes on 41 Posts
Originally Posted by starlord718