Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Complete rebuild... Same sound/problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2019, 04:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Complete rebuild... Same sound/problem

I know it's long but please help, I'm a pretty good backyard mechanic but I'm about out of ideas.

So about 10k miles ago I started hearing this little almost puff coming from my exhaust. I've got a hole in my muffler (no holes north of the muffler so the O2 is not affected) so I can hear the engine better than most.

This sounded like if you say the word "put" but just the puh of the word. At first it was about every 3 or so seconds and very small (no one would notice but me) then it gradually got more consistent. Only happening at light throttle cruising (not idle or acceleration). I thought, hey, with a 1994 and 150k miles, prob a vacuum leak. Did the starter fluid test and inspected everything with a vacuum manual pump taking off each line and all are surprisingly good shape.

Hmm so I think what do my plugs look like? Car feels like it's running ok. Well plugs look a bit lean but nothing alarming except 4th cylinder looks slightly sooty and think we'll there it is, rings are bad in #4. I was getting an exorbitant about of blowby in oil cap so I thought well I'll just do a rebuild before it gets too bad. Had to wait a few months till summer though. Problem gets louder and more frequent now happening in all rpms.

Rebuild goes well and find a seized oil ring in #4, think, "There is my culprit!"

During rebuild find the engine in extremely good shape no need to bore cyl, no cracks on head gasket, just really everything surprisingly clean. Get valve job and everything. Only thing I don't replace were the injectors (I have those on order and will replace tomorrow).

After rebuild I seated the rings and have driven about 100 miles when I heard the sound for the first time yesterday. Same as it started before. Small and subtle....