Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

87 4Runner 22RE troubleshooting help needed

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2010, 11:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hey Chef, sorry to hear about your troubles. I'm not an expert at all, so I can't help you much here - but FWIW, I've always had a little idle drop when under electrical load and don't have a corresponding miss.

I did have a Camry several years back with hard to trace miss, ended up being the coil. Dunno if you could find one to swap out temporarily just to 100% rule that out?

Good luck man!
Old 08-23-2010, 01:35 PM

hey chef, Maybe that is what that fine looking truck like to do . I t looks great and runs fine under a load what else can you ask for.
Old 08-23-2010, 01:47 PM

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts
Originally Posted by mountaingoat
Hey Chef, sorry to hear about your troubles. I'm not an expert at all, so I can't help you much here - but FWIW, I've always had a little idle drop when under electrical load and don't have a corresponding miss.

I did have a Camry several years back with hard to trace miss, ended up being the coil. Dunno if you could find one to swap out temporarily just to 100% rule that out?

Good luck man!
Hey Bud, ... thanks alot for the input! Sometimes, it's just a few seconds tracking back over ones issues they've had(we've all had them with one or another vehicle) and dropping that hint. I appreciate it, and I've been thinking that it might just be the coil, due to the ignitor and dizzy being seemingly fine. I've been asking around and I had one to swap for a test....but he went back to Tennessee, dagnabbit! lol. The dealer guy I know will be calling me back today to see if he can fish one up from a purring rig. I can't rule it out without an oscilloscope...unless I swap in a good one.

Again, thanks for the input....

Mark
Old 08-23-2010, 01:51 PM

Originally Posted by mfwimg82