Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

22re will not reach operating temperature - Noob

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2020, 09:24 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
22re will not reach operating temperature - Noob

Hello all, I recently picked up an '85 pickup and she's just being broken in at 182,000 miles. The engine runs well and nothing is overtly wrong besides what I assume to be a loose timing chain tick.

However, the temperature gauge only reaches about 15% of the way up even after an hour on the highway. I smell exhaust and assume that the engine is running rich. She chugs gas - may be the fact that I'm new to manual transmissions - but I do smell exhaust inside the cab when I come to a stop.

I am a novice and would appreciate any knowledge on this matter. Could these two issues be connected? If so, what do I do about the low operating temp on the engine?

Thank you
Old 09-13-2020, 12:11 AM

Received 21 Likes on 17 Posts
The computer will enrich the fuel mixture if the coolant is cold, so that might be why you are running rich. Your thermostat is probably bad, or it could be a cheap one that is letting too much coolant flow through when it is closed. OEM Toyota thermostats are the best, and they make a dual stage thermostat to stop gauge overshoot. The previous owner might have drilled a hole in your thermostat to stop that problem. The first thing to do is verify coolant temp with a thermometer to make sure it is not just your gauge reading incorrectly. Depending on the thermostat, it should be around 180-190 degrees.
The following users liked this post:
iamthespliff (09-13-2020)
Old 09-13-2020, 06:47 AM

Received 158 Likes on 101 Posts
The previous owner may have installed a 160 degree t-stat. In my 92, I am running an OEM 190 degree single-stage t-stat, part #90916-03078. Gauge reads 1/2 way after reaching operating temp & stays put no matter city or highway, AC on or off, or outside temp.