84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

Suspension too stiff

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2024, 01:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Suspension too stiff

Sup yotlers,
I bought my 85 pickup a few month ago and have been ironing out some kinks.
One that I could use some input on is my stiff suspension. I understand the difference in functions of the spring (displacement) and shock (dampening) in the suspension. However, since I have no previous experience with suspension tuning, I don't have anything to compare to my current setup to understand what is making it so stiff.
From my basic research, it would seem to me that with only 3 leaves in the pack (+1 overload in the rear), that the axle should be able to travel fairly easily. That leaves () the shocks as the culprit, which I unfortunately have no information on (brand/model/etc.).
The shackle angles look good to my untrained eye. The truck has a 4" lift (as I've been told). It also has an aluminum flatbed which might make the suspension seems stiffer due to less weight, but it's also very hard in the front too.

Can anyone with experience help point me in the right direction?

Mahalo nui

Old 08-07-2024, 04:28 PM

Received 34 Likes on 29 Posts
Looks like cheap bolt on lift springs, they are going to be stiff.
If you look at the lift springs people are using, chevys, RUF, TG, all pro, sky, they are all longer than stock and ride nice.
I suggest looking into new springs, shocks and high steer.
Old 08-07-2024, 04:55 PM

@Toyota addict the longer springs would require moving the shackle mounts (i.e cutting and re welding to frame) to fit, correct?
Or is it also possible to just get longer shackles to fit the longer springs? I know that would affect the shackle angle but I guess it depends on how much longer the springs are.

Thanks for your input.
Old 08-07-2024, 06:11 PM

Received 34 Likes on 29 Posts
Originally Posted by QuickSilvah