Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

radio help

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2014, 06:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
radio help

Ok I bought some new rockford fosgate 4" door speakers to replace my old original paper speakers well I had to drill the speakers to get them to fit to the original speaker cover well now the window want roll all the way down cause the magnet is to big but thats not m problem, the new speakers dont sound good when you turn it up when its low it sounds ok but I think the old radio doesnt push enough watts for the speakers well what can I do to make them sound good and keep the original radio maybe a small amp, im not sure I have no experience with wiring radios so any help would be appreciated thanks
Old 05-01-2014, 08:39 AM

I had the same issue with my windows hitting the magnets. I used 1/4" bushings. (shims). Cant help you with the sound, mine sounds like crap too.
Old 05-01-2014, 11:08 AM

There's tons of options...mostly depending on how much you want to spend and what you want to accomplish, and if you plan on expanding in the future.

You are correct that most likely your stereo is not putting out enough power. In addition, your speaker wire probably needs to be replaced.

The most cost effective option is a small 2 channel amp with high level inputs (meaning inputs that connect to your speaker wire from your radio). There are tons of options beyond this.

I found this little unit on Amazon.

http://www.amazon.com/Pyle-PLMRA400-4-Channel-Waterproof-Amplifier/dp/B000N5T0T4/ref=lp_898116_1_6?s=car&ie=UTF8&qid=1398968803&sr=1-6#productDetails http://www.amazon.com/Pyle-PLMRA400-4-Channel-Waterproof-Amplifier/dp/B000N5T0T4/ref=lp_898116_1_6?s=car&ie=UTF8&qid=1398968803&sr=1-6#productDetails