Tool Time Discussions here pertain to the use of tools you use while fabbing and wrenching in the garage

Best tools to own?

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2005, 04:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Best tools to own?

Snap-on? Mac? Matco? Facom/SK? Craftsman?

What is the best to have?

Thanks in advance for all advice!

Old 12-06-2005, 04:21 PM
Contributing Member

craftsman because you can break them and get a new one. the others are all quality brands.
Old 12-06-2005, 04:21 PM
Contributing Member

all depends on your needs.
Weekend wrencher, professional???

I personally love my Snap-On stuff. It is expensive, I know it. I live it so I will pay for it.
Old 12-06-2005, 04:23 PM

because you can break them and get a new one
HUTCH, I almost certain the same goes for the other tools manufacturers as well (Snap-on, Mac, etc.)
Old 12-06-2005, 04:24 PM

FilthyRich I am a weekend wrenchhead going pro!
Old 12-06-2005, 04:29 PM
Contributing Member

I use matco stuff... as good quality as others but the prices are right and my tool guy is great to work with.... but you cant get some tools through them... then i go to snap on
Old 12-06-2005, 04:33 PM

I wrench w/ lots of MacTools. If I could afford Snap, or MatCo I would go that route, but I LOVE my Mac Knucklesaver wrenches, and all their sockets. I prefer snap-on ratchets, despite their ridiculous price. One thing you will want to ask yourself is:
Will I be able to access tool trucks when a tool unexpectedly breaks? If you can answer yes, then by all means, buy the professional quality tools like Mac, Matco,snap etc....cornwell is for the oldschoolers. I wrench alot, but am by no means a "pro" however I truly enjoy the feeling of picking up a quality wrench, or ratchet mated to a quality socket. It's a feeling every man should experience at least once in their life. If your like me, the first time I used my friends snap-on tools, I started a saving account the next day.
Old 12-06-2005, 04:41 PM
Contributing Member