84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

New Gear Install - Need Help Reading Pattern

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2011, 01:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Gear Install - Need Help Reading Pattern

Hey Guys-
It's my first time doing a differential gear install, and I'm having some issues right now, or feel like I'm going the wrong direction.

I'm installing some 4.88 gears into my 4 Cylinder 3rd Member. The gears appear to be "Genuine" (Yes, I know, cheap, but money was tight at the time, now I wish I had gone with something better). In any case, I have gotten things mostly setup, but I'm having a hell of a time getting the pattern where I want it to be. I have spent a lot of time reading up on Zuk's site, but what I'm seeing here just doesn't quite seem to make sense.

If someone with more experience wouldn't mind reading the pattern below and tell me what you think. This pattern was obtained with about .006" of Backlash, and .064" of pinion shimming.

Drive Pattern

Coast Pattern

From what I have read, it seems like the pattern I am getting is indicative of crappy Genuine gears. The way I read it, I need less backlash, and the pattern still looks a bit too deep. I started out around .088" of pinion shim, and the pattern has moved a little, but it's such an odd looking pattern, I'm not sure.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 10-09-2011, 03:36 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I have seen a similar pattern with another brand of gears. I wont say the name, but they were NOT yukon, sierra, richmond, etc... Anyway, it appeared to be due to the machining of the teeth. No matter how deep, shallow, tight or loose we made them, it had a funky "scratched" looking contact pattern. It WOULD NOT mesh smoothly and move all the paint off the face or the back of the teeth.