Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

I overtorqued the intake manifold bolts by accident

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2011, 05:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I overtorqued the intake manifold bolts by accident

I'll begin by saying I'm new to Toyotas (my wife is the enthusiast) and to this site. I'm retarded when it comes to this type of forum stuff-- I don't mean to "hijack" threads or piss people off however I seem to do, and if the answer is somewhere I haven't found, it isn't that I didn't try looking--it's just that I couldn't find it. Computer navigating is not my thing--just never been good at it. Anyway....to the subject matter.....

I have an '86 4runner, 33's, 22re, 5 sp... I am in the process of replacing my intake and exhaust manifold gaskets...not a big deal, but I found a way to bone myself anyway. I didn't have any spec books with me, so I just figured I'd get the gasket installed, tighten up a the bolts a bit, run home and check online what the torque specs were. Come to find out, the manifold bolt torque specs are 14 ft-lbs. When I went to torque the bolts (in proper sequence), I found that I had already torqued all of them more than the spec. I'm afraid that if I check to see exactly what I torqued them at, I may crack something or split the bolt housing. However, I'm sure I'm over 20 ft-lbs.

I'm pretty sure I didn't damage anything. Certainly nothing is stripped, nor did I hear or feel any snapping.

I would just take it off and reinstall it, but I already RTV'd everything. I want to use the truck this weekend and I'd hate to have to order in another gasket and do this again. Not alot of money I guess, but these days, my wife would rather see diapers for the girls or another gallon of milk. So not looking to do this again unless it's the only way to do it right.

Could I simply loosen the bolts and torque them properly and call it good? What do you think I should do? I appreciate the help.