Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Just swapped a W56 into my turbo/auto pickup.

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2012, 07:03 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Well, the grinding into reverse mysteriously went away. I'm not sure why, but I'm happy now
Old 12-04-2012, 05:57 AM

Hey, just an update on this. I've been driving it for several months now. The clutch started slipping now and again so I decided to swap it out.

I swear I can swap the clutch in this thing in under 4 hours......

The output shaft of the transmission was loose. Surprise! I guess it's not uncommon for these things to loosen up over time especially with excessive vibrations. I noticed one of the u joints on my drive shaft was a little off. I greased it, tightened down the output nut, and re-staked it. In the future I'll revisit this, and replace the nut.

When I put the new clutch in I made sure to go over the input shaft splines and get them really clean, and lubed them up with a LITTLE grease. The old clutch was having problems dis-engaging as was discussed above, and would chatter on engagement. I have a suspicion that it was all just the disk binding on the input shaft.

With the new clutch and pressure plate, engagement is amazingly smooth. I had to adjust the pedal again, as the clutch wasn't fully engaging now. I assume the old one wasn't either, which is why it started slipping, but it needed to be that way to get the clutch fully dis-engaged.