84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

New toyota - Total newb - Restore it or walk away?

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2012, 10:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New toyota - Total newb - Restore it or walk away?

Yesterday I picked up a 1985 Toyota 4runner 22R (Was 22RE) 277k for $1500. It is in what I would consider rough shape, with great potential to be restored. I'm looking for some honest advice on the possibility of making this old truck a DD again, given the fact that: A. It's been modified, as you'll see, and B. The most mechanical work I've ever done would range from waterpumps to starters etc., basically nothing, but my interest to research and learn is monumental.

So I'll start by giving you the details about the runner based on the sellers comments, and what I've observed, again, bear with me as I am limited in knowledge, but not clueless.

The Interior:

The console area - It's missing the plastic that skirts the shift boot, the lid is hanging by a thread, but for the most part it has all its pieces.

The floor (Front) - Virtually rust free, paint is smooth and somewhat shiny in spots still. I noticed a hard rubber linner basically cemented to the floor around the shifter area and other places. Does this need to be removed to paint and recarpet? It's caked with other people "ick" and quite disgusting.

The Floor(Rear) - Pretty darn clean! Not a whole lot to write about, no rust still has most of the original blue paint, definitely workable. **As a side note, I've not pictured the seats, and I'm not including them in my assessment since reupholstering is always a relatively inexpensive option.**

Headliner: Looks ok!

The Engine Bay: