Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

*Need Advice* on '81 22r Issue

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2016, 10:31 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question *Need Advice* on '81 22r Issue

I have a '81/'82 4WD Toyota Pickup (Gas). The engine and some other parts are from an '82. I am by no means a mechanic, but I've owned this truck for over 10 years now and have done a lot of work on it. This is the first time I've haven't been able to fix something. Any advice or suggestions on this would be appreciated.

I noticed a rattling noise coming from the engine, at first very mild but after a week or two it grew to be loud. It was a metallic noise like metal on metal slapping that was loudest at startup and seemed to get faster/more steady with the increase of rpm but faded away once the engine hit 2000 - 2500 rpm.

I removed the valve cover to take a quick look down at the timing chain and guides and noticed the two bolts holding the drivers side guide were worn almost have way through on the chain side. I assumed the chain had stretched and was making the noise. So I picked up a new dual timing chain and assembly(sprockets, guides, tensioner, gaskets) from ENGNBLDR and got some advice from the guy there.

I then installed the new timing chain with the FSM making sure to mark all the timing chain cover bolts so they go back into the correct spot. I double checked the bolt that goes through the oil pump that it wasn't too long and hitting the chain tensioner. Torqued everything to spec and put it all back together. Engine started first try but after about 30sec of running it seemed like the chain skipped or something happened and the same noise came back with the same symptoms... noise started to fade out past 2000 - 2500rpm. I adjusted the timing and tried it slightly advanced and slightly retarded but didn't affect the noise.